Top 7 Highest Capacity Nuclear Power Plants In India

India is boosting its infrastructure and the capacity of generating more nuclear-powered energy to reduce its dependence on the imported energy resources. As the nation is witnessing a steady rise in energy consumption, the central government has set a target of building more nuclear power plants to satisfy the rising demand.

Here’s a list of the top 7 nuclear power stations in India, that are currently producing the most nuclear-powered electricity.

Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project

Located in Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu, this is the largest nuclear power plant in India. The construction of the project began on 31 March, 2002. The plant became operational in 2013, almost 11 years later. The construction was stalled many times due to protests by local fishermen.

The nuclear power project has six VVER-1000 reactors, which was built with the collaboration of the Russian state company and the Nuclear Power Corporation of India. The installed capacity of the power plant is 6,000 megawatts of electricity.

Kakrapar Atomic Power Station

This nuclear power station is situated on the banks of the Tapti river, approximately 80 kilometers from the city of Surat, India. The construction of this nuclear power station was started in 1984 and commissioned on 6th May 1993.

The power station was built in two phases. In the first phase, two pressurized water reactors (PHWR) with 220 megawatts of capacity each were added, which successfully began producing electricity for public consumption. The first phase of the construction costs around Rs 1,335 crore.

Read:  Top 11 Mega Projects In India That Are Now Successfully Completed

In the second phase, the government of India approved the usage of indigenously designed two more IPHWR-700 reactors. One of these reactors has already been installed, and one is under construction. Thus, with the newly added fully made in India reactors, the Kakrapar Atomic Power Station will have a combined capacity of producing 1,840 megawatts of electricity.

Tarapur Atomic Power Station

Tarapur Atomic Power Station or T.A.P.S. is the first commercial nuclear power station ever built in India. It’s located in the industrial area of Boisar in Maharashtra’s Thane district.

This nuclear power station was initially constructed in 1963, under an agreement between India, the United States, and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). It had two boiling water reactors (BWR). Supplied by the United States, those reactors were the first of their kind in Asia.

The reactors were brought online on 28th October in 1969, for commercial operation with a combined power of 420 megawatts of electricity. However, recently two more pressurized heavy water reactors (PHWR) were added. These have the capacity of producing 540 megawatts of electricity each.

Rajasthan Atomic Power Station

Rajasthan Atomic Power Station is located in Rawatbhata in the state of Rajasthan, India. Also known as RAPS, the construction of the power station began in 1963 and was commissioned after ten years on 16th December 1973. This atomic power station initially had two pressurized heavy water reactors (PHWR) with an output of 220 megawatts each. They cost around $570 million at that time.

The Nuclear Power Corporation of India (NPCIL), which is the owner and operator of the power plant, decided to expand to more reactors. Currently, the plant has a total of six operational reactors, which have the combined capacity of producing 1,180 megawatts of electricity. 

Read:  The 9 Types Of Dams You Didn't Know India Also Have

Kaiga Atomic Power Station

Operated by the Nuclear Power Corporation Of India, the Kaiga Atomic Power Station is located near the Kali river, in Uttar Kannada district of Karnataka, India. This nuclear power plant has been running since March 2020. 

It provides power supply to five southern states in India – Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karala, and Pondicherry. The atomic power plant has a total of four pressurized heavy water reactors installed, with each having a power output capacity of 220 megawatts. 

Although the 1st unit was originally delayed by a construction mishap in 1994, both units have now been commissioned for commercial operations from 2020, with a combined capacity of generating 880 megawatts of electricity.

Narora Atomic Power Station

NAPS, or Narora Atomic Power Station is a nuclear power plant located in Narora, Bulandshahar district in Uttar Pradesh, India. The power station houses two pressurized heavy water reactors (PHWR), each having a capacity of producing 220 megawatts of electricity. 

The first unit of the power station was commissioned for commercial operation on 1st January 1991, and second one on 1st July 1992. Both units now have a combined capacity of generating 440 megawatts of electricity.

Madras Atomic Power Station

Madras Atomic Power Station is India’s first fully indigenously constructed nuclear power station. It’s located at Kalpakkam about 80 kilometers south of Chennai. The power station houses two units of pressurized heavy water reactors (PHWR), with each having a capacity of generating 235 megawatts of electricity.

This atomic power station was built by the collaboration between the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) and the Indian engineering firm Larsen & Toubro, as they have obtained the required experience by working with the CANDU reactors at Kota.

Read:  Top 9 Hydropower Plants In India

Is India A Nuclear Power Country?

India is recognized as a nuclear power country after the successful conduction of its first nuclear test on 18th May 1974 in Pokhran with the code name Smiling Buddha. India also has an active asseral of nuclear weapons, and has the technology to use nuclear energy to produce gigawatts of energy.

Who Makes India a Nuclear Power State?

Led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee, the former prime minister of the Indian government declared India as a full-fledged nuclear power state in a press release, after successfully conducting two additional nuclear tests on 13th May 1998.

How Many Nuclear Power Plants Are In India?

India has presently 22 operational reactors of different types, with a total capacity of producing 6,890 megawatts of electricity.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments